DirectX12 Engine – Metals, Normal Mapping, Tessellation, Displacement Mapping

In this post, I am going to tell you about how my little engine is going.

I am (slowly) moving to PBR (Physically Based Rendering). For now, I have a new type of Material that supports:

  • Base Color
  • Metal Mask
  • Reflectance
  • Smoothness

I was following the very well known PBR Course, and it is a great place to start. I am only supporting punctual lights, and I do not support ambient light for now (until I finish IBL)

The following video shows some metals (gold, silver, copper, iron, aluminum) and some non-metals (plastics and glasses).

 

The following video shows tessellation + displacement mapping techniques, with different materials.

 

Other things already implemented are:

  • Deferred shading
  • Multithread command list recording

Thanks for reading, and as usually, source code is located at GitHub

 

One thought on “DirectX12 Engine – Metals, Normal Mapping, Tessellation, Displacement Mapping

Leave a Reply

